In Ubuntu’s Unity desktop, whenever you select ‘Logout’, ‘Restart’ … functions from the top-panel’s session menu, the OS asks you to confirm. It is a good move from the users perspective, as you can undo the request at the conformation dialog box (say that you forgot to save a web page in Firefox).
However, apart from its usefulness, I mostly find it to be an annoying feature. Now, you can easily disable this in Ubuntu, but until the 12.10 release, one could not do that, due to how that menu was implemented.
For example, in earlier versions of Ubuntu, the ‘Restart’ option was only shown at the confirmation dialog box of ‘Shutdown’. Thus, if you had disabled the conformation dialog, then you no longer can access the ‘Restart’ option.
Luckily, with Ubuntu 12.10, this menu has been changed and users can access the ‘Restart’ menu item directly from the main session menu.
If you too would like to do that too, then open your Terminal window and simply enter the below command.
gsettings set com.canonical.indicator.session suppress-logout-restart-shutdown trueThat should do it.
If you wanted to get back the original functionality later, then you can undo the change by using the below command.
gsettings set com.canonical.indicator.session suppress-logout-restart-shutdown falseYup, that’s it!.